Monday, April 5, 2010

The Eleventh Doctor

Matt Smith as the Eleventh Doctor was fantastic. Karen Gillan as the new companion was fantastic. Steven Moffat as the new head writer of the Doctor Who series was fantastic. The new opening song and credits and the new logo are all fantastic.

I'm so excited by this new series. I can't wait till next week to download another new episode. ^_^

The only thing that wasn't fantastic were the fish fingers dipped in custard. That was ewwww.


Good times with Sherrie, Dane, Dirk, Bel and Mot. Muchas gracias to the two Ds for cooking us a lovely BBQ lunch and hosting the shenanigans.

Also, w00t for Chuck. ^_^

Sunday, January 31, 2010

People are disgusting

My mum's friend in the Philippines just lost her teenage son in a motorcycle accident. He was driving with his friend seated behind him through an intersection when a Mazda 4WD ran a red light and hit them and another motorcycle.

They were hit and the son of my mum's friend was run over, his leg broken and his face crushed beyond recognition. Dead instantly, and yet the hospital that his body was taken to insists on charging his mum P20,000 (AUD4,000) because they supposedly tried to resucitate him. Clearly a lie but they're demanding payment.

The driver of the Mazda was a 29yo whose British boyfriend owned the SUV. His insurance will mostly go to the passenger riding with my mum's friend's son beacause he's currently on a coma. Only P5,000 (AUD1,000) each will go to my mum's friend and the couple on the second bike hit, as they only had minor injuries. Nowhere near enough to cover the hospital costs that my mum's friend now has to pay.

She's so mad. She would rather offer the Mazda driver P5,000 to run her over instead. The Mazda driver deserves it, fucking bitch.

You know what's worse? Because the two teenage boys were dead and unconscious respectively due to the accident, someone came by and stole their wallets.

People are fucking disgusting.

Sunday, January 24, 2010

Men

They are absolutely hopeless. Seriously. My friends are an exception to this, of course. But all other members of their gender are ridiculous.

I'd try out women, just to get away from men, but women are insane. Also, the penis is awesomely good fun.

Sigh.

Sunday, January 17, 2010

Oz Vogue Editor vs Victoria's Secret

Read the Insider fashion column in today's Sunday Telegraph. It's written by the editor of Australian Vogue. Never read the column until today, but wow was this woman talking out of her arse.

She was bitching about how she thinks that Victoria's Secret lingerie is tacky and the models nothing more than glorified glamour models a'la Jordan, better suited for Playboy. How did she come to this conclusion? She saw the VS Parade and was pissed off at seeing women she didn't consider good enough for the catwalk parading up and down. And why didn't she think they belonged on the catwalk? Because they had tits, hips and arses. Because these models looked like they ate normal meals and had more mainstream looks instead if high fashion looks, she didn't think they belonged in a fashion parade that are "principally a big perv fest for men". In her high and mighty opinion, lingerie models were lesser entities and were to be looked down upon compared to high fashion models.

Well, I don't know about most women, but I find the idea of women with tits and hips modelling lingerie to be much more appealing than seeing them on a stick insect. As for her criticisms regarding the parade as nothing more than a big perv fest for the benefit of males, I am a female and I enjoy watching the shows each year. They're fun, funky and the models are so relaxed that they obviously just have a great old time dressing up in costumes for the show. Because just like a high fashion couture show, one does not expect these outfits to be worn on a regular day to day basis. And I'd rather see a girl in wings than some fashion model wearing a cage around her head while she parades around in an outfit more suited to a baglady.

As for the VS products themselves being tacky, she's obviously never bothered to lower herself by going to a VS store while in the US. If she did, she'd see that there is a mix of brightly coloured and the more standard looking lingerie that women of any age can wear. The parades are like a couture show. The actual products sold in stores and online are everyday wear which are not only super comfortable, but make you feel good. I should know. I've worn no other bra other than the Victoria's Secret bras I bought there last September and I absolutely love them.

I find it interesting too that she published her opinion in a city newspaper instead of the Editor's column in Vogue. Clearly she doesn't want to piss off her American counterpart. God knows VS probably advertise in American Vogue. I doubt they think VS is unworthy of their good opinion.

Oh, and in response to her no high fashion model criticisms, I have two words for her: Heidi Klum.

Saturday, January 2, 2010

So, spent NYD morning in hospital. You?

Went to Bekki's on NYE for hangs. Good time was had. Especially as we got a chance to appreciate Cobra Starship's "Good Girls Go Bad" music video twice. Hehe.

Anyway, went home about half past midnight because I suddenly started experiencing severe pain in my stomach. Took two Zantacs and drove myself home. Still in pain ten minutes after I got home so I took two Buscopans. Went to bed to try and sleep it off.

Couldn't sleep. Would drift off during the night but I'd be woken up again by the pain in my stomach. Took two another Buscopans at about 4am but that didn't do anything to alleviate any of the pain.

Parents ended up driving me to the local hospital emergency room, where I thankfully got checked in before a small rush of people came in with problems. After me, there was a guy whose friends brought him in because he'd collapsed and couldn't talk or stand. Then there was a drunk girl who stepped on a nail which went through her shoe and into her foot.

Got a room and was promptly stuck with a needle that was hooked up to an IV. Blood pressure was taken many times, some blood extracted for testing and even x-rays of my chest and abdomen to make sure I didn't have pneumonia or anything abnormal.

Four hours later, all tests were reported clear. Was told that I had gastroenteritis and should see my GP about tests to see if I had some sort of bug in my stomach. Stomach lining inflamed so was given medication to take once daily until the medication is finished.

They gave me some painkillers through the IV so that reduced the stomach pain but didn't get rid of it entirely. At least I was able to sleep when I got home. Stomach now still sore but not like it was before. Have eaten nothing today but a little homemade wonton soup.

Oh well. Happy Fucking New Year.

Sunday, November 15, 2009

Green Day vs X-mas Party

Decisions have been made.

My friend Sarah is coming down to Sydney from Cairns. I missed her 18th birthday while I was overseas. Therefore, she takes priority. That means that Sarah (and thus, Green Day) come first, and if that means missing 80% of the company Christmas party, well, it's a sacrifice I'll just have to make.

Besides, it's not like I would've gotten drunk at the party. More likely to get drunk at the pub than the Christmas party.

Now, to cancel my costume order before it's mailed out. That will have to wait until Monday though, as my order number is in my work inbox. Damn.

Meanwhile, so can't wait till Sarah gets to Sydney. Just over two weeks to go! ^_^

Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Who is your "Get out of jail free" card?

You know which one I'm talking about. The one person that, should the opportunity ever arise, you can sleep with with absolutely no consequences from your significant other.

Mine is Ray Toro, lead guitarist of My Chemical Romance. My bestie's is Shannon Leto, better looking brother of Jared Leto.

Who is yours?